top of page
Rex Munn
Cultural Heritage Award

Rex Munn was one of the inaugural members of the Port of Adelaide National Trust branch. He was president of the MUA Veterans Association, a member of SA Unions community action group, vice president of the Mayday committee, member of the asbestos advisory committee to the Government, member of the Fair Go for Pensioners Committee and a foundation member of the Port Adelaide branch of the National Trust. His motto was “retired from the workforce but not from the struggle.”

He was also a volunteer at the Port Adelaide Maritime Museum, enthusiastic gardener, home brewer and passionate long time supporter of the Tea Tree Gully Football Club. 


To celebrate and remember the contributions that Rex made to the community, PoANT initiated the Rex Munn Cultural Heritage Award to be presented on the first Sunday after May Day at the Workers' Memorial in Port Adelaide. The inaugural award was presented in 2015 by Michelle Hogan and Pat Netschitowsky to Emma Webb, representing Vitalstatistix Theatre Company and the performance of "Rockin' The Boat". 

To read more about Rex Munn, click hereListen to Rex sing. Hear Rex talk about being a wharfie and a member of MUA.

Rex Munn

Cultural Heritage Award





No award was presented


Alison Sloley & Adam Freeman
(Co-owners of Port Admiral Hotel)


Luke Heffernan
(Retired Union Members Association
and the Labour History Society (SA) Branch.
Active member of community)

Photo: Mark Butler MP, Pat Netschitowsky,

Adam Freeman and Alison Sloley

Photo: Luke Heffernan with

Jude Elton and Pat Netschitowsky


Kalyna Micenko & Bob Daly
(? Spinfx AustrAliA)


Photo: Bob Daly with Kalyna Micenko
and Michelle Hogan


Semaphore Workers Club
(? Semaphore Workers Club)


Photo: ?
with Michelle Hogan

Back to Projects
bottom of page