top of page

The Port of Adelaide Branch of the National Trust of South Australia (PoANT) was formed in October 2006 as a response to the community’s growing concerns regarding the rapid changes that were underway in Port Adelaide and on the LeFevre Peninsula. The branch became the 49th branch in this state.

Even before its first General Meeting, the branch had already attracted the largest membership of the 49 branches throughout South Australia and had one of the largest memberships in the country. Unlike the majority of the other branches, which look after buildings and collections, PoANT is purely focused on advocacy, providing members with opportunities to relay their heritage aspirations and concerns to all levels of government, business and the wider community.  



PoANT contributes to the conservation and celebration of local heritage through: actions; supporting the broader community; and strategic partnerships.

It is a community-based organisation committed to raising awareness about, and protecting, the rich culture and heritage of the Greater Port Adelaide region. 

‘The lives of present and future South Australians will be enriched by the conservation of our natural and cultural heritage’

(Source: The National Trust of South Australia viewed Tuesday 11 March 2008)

The Committee

The PoANT Branch Committee comprises at least five members, all of whom must be financial members of the NTSA. Annual elections held at the Branch Annual General Meeting (AGM) fill the positions of Chair, Secretary,Treasurer, and at least two other Committee member roles.

The current PoANT Committee comprises:

Clare Shuttleworth, Chair

Michelle Hogan, Secretary

Kirsty Hammet, Treasurer

Pat Netschitowsky, Member Liaison

Philip Winter

Lindl Lawton

Cath Duncan

Within our community there is a wealth of knowledge in, and passion for, Port Adelaide's local heritage, history and unique character. The Committee warmly welcomes all interested parties to attend, and contribute to, meetings, events, workshops and rallies.


The PoANT AGM is held in August/September each year.

Strategic Policy Statements

•    Built heritage
•    Industrial heritage and culture
•    Development and conservation
•    Natural environment
•    Maritime heritage
•    Climate change and heritage 
•    Liaison with Aboriginal people and organisations
•    Promotion of amenity and sense of place
•    Influencing government policy and development outcomes
•    Networking and promotion of heritage values
•    Community consultation and engagement

bottom of page